top of page
Search
  • kelssart

Life Begins at the End of Your Comfort Zone

Updated: Sep 1, 2019

Right now it is 8:30AM in Bulgaria - we have officially spent 1 night here. Yesterday when we first arrived at our Air BnB, I was not so surprised to find myself feeling very anxious - I felt the same way when I first arrived at my apartment in Italy when I studied abroad in 2012. I had a moment on both occasions where it just suddenly hit me that there was an entire ocean between me and home. Ever since I was a kid, I have always had what Nan would call “Wander Lust,” but I think even the most adventurous people can feel a little uneasy when thrown so far from their comfort zone. Even the smallest things like finding pink toilet paper in the bathroom remind you how far away from home you are.


As I walked around the apartment yesterday, I stumbled across this sign hanging right next to the front door - “Life Begins at the End of Your Comfort Zone.” Boy did that ease my nerves. Any leftover anxiety disappeared completely once we finally got our showers, got dressed, and wandered out into the city to have a drink with my Aunt, Uncle, Cousins, and their significant others. We all met at this roof top bar on the 9th floor of the Sense Hotel, just a short walk from our Air BnB. I was completely blown away by the view of the mountains this high up. I had not realized until this moment just how beautiful Bulgaria is.


After our quick drink, Justin and I wandered off alone to do some exploring and grab some food.


We are really looking forward to going on a FREE walking tour in a few hours with my Aunt Susan and Uncle John. It will be great to learn more about the city and it’s history.





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page